Continuous Manufacturing of Biologics: A Journey from Concept to Reality


15th September 2021 | 2:00pm IST / 4:30pm CST / 9:30am GMT / 10:30am CET | Himanshu Gadgil, CSO and Whole-Time Director at Enzene Biosciences Ltd. |BOOK FREE SEAT FOR THIS WEBINAR

Enzene Biosciences has been one of the early movers in the development of continuous manufacturing platforms for the production of Biologics. The company has developed multiple products using their continuous manufacturing platform which are now being tested in clinical studies. This talk encapsulates the learnings in developing this platform from early stages of development to scale-up and GMP manufacturing. Key areas include challenges specific to continuous manufacturing such as process optimization, process characterization, automation, in-line process analytics with an emphasis on the considerations towards the design of the manufacturing plant. Additionally, elucidation of emerging opportunities with respect to lean manufacturing, increased volumetric productivity, reduction of manufacturing footprint, and its resulting impact on lower COGs will also be discussed along with a case study on factors for conversion of the fed-batch process to a perfusion process. Concluding the talk with a precis of the crucial drivers which are leading to the emergence of continuous manufacturing as the preferred manufacturing platform for Biologics production.

Presented by Himanshu Gadgil, CSO and Whole-Time Director at Enzene Biosciences Ltd.

Dr. Himanshu Gadgil serves as the Whole-time Director at  Enzene Biosciences Ltd. presiding overall business functions of the company. Under his services, Enzene has grown from start-up biotech to a multi-vertical, multi-site product development and manufacturing service  based biopharmaceutical company. Prior to Enzene, he worked as the Sr. Vice President at Intas Pharmaceutical Ltd. where he was instrumental in turning around the commercial product pipeline by launching several biosimilar products in multiple geographies.  During his stint in the US, he led different facets of the process and product development at Amgen spearheading IND, BLA, and Market authorizations of various blockbuster biotech products. At the inception of his career, he joined Waters Corporation where he pioneered the development of QBD enabling multi-attribute methodologies for biopharmaceutical characterisation. Himanshu holds a Ph.D. in Biochemistry from the University of Tennessee and is a passionate scientific leader as well as an innovator with over 50 publications and patents.


We will not sell your information to a third party. See our Privacy Policy